I remember being pretty young and wanting to be a chef.  I would take a piece of boloney (who invented that crap anyways, really), roll it up into a cylinder, and ‘season’ it with a bunch of salt. Now keep in mind I was maybe only in the first grade at the time but that baloney roll up was my haute cuisine. I could not make anything else; and I had no food blogs to inspire me.

Thank goodness for VeganYumYum! Really. I think I made four or five of her recipes over the past couple of days.  Haha.  What I didn’t realize when I was making the first of her recipes is that one can get kind of get caught up in a VeganYumYum vortex of recipe making delicious delirium or VRMDD (short hand pronunciation: “vrrroom-ed”). You can’t just stop at one recipe. No. You need to make anything and everything that you have ingredients for. Once you have been VRMDD you can’t stop.

#1 Graham Crackers:

Whodathunk that you could make graham crackers so easily? And they’re fun to make too! Bonus!

IMG_3755

The instructions she gives on making these wee little crackers of deliciousness are very well laid out so you have no excuse not to make them and subsequently slather them in peanut butter. Or almond butter. Or any kind of nut butter.

IMG_3744

Verdict? A+

NEXT TIME!?! I’m totally going to make CHOCOLATE Graham Crackers and substitute some cocoa powder for some of the white flour!!! Can you tell how excited that prospect makes me?!?

Yes. I Am. Easily amused.

#2 Poolish Focaccia:

Now don’t be alarmed by the name. “Poolish” is not a communicable disease. It is only a term for the kind of starter used to make the bread.

IMG_3764

Never made a yeast bread before? What are you waiting for? Store bought focaccia does not even come close to the fantasticness that is homemade bread. One whiff of this and all the neighborhood animals/kids/pool boys will be lining up outside your door for a taste.

IMG_3762

Verdict? A+ fo’ sho’.

Changes? You all know I can’t make a recipe without tweaking it somehow. I used 2 1/2 cups whole wheat flour in place of the white flour in the poolish. Because the poolish has so much time to hang out on your counter, it gives the whole wheat flour plenty of time to relax and soften up. Also consider using at the very maximum 1/4 cup of the Herb Oil. It’s plenty. At least in my opinion. But don’t take my word for it, try it out yourself!

Aaaaand it’s everybody’s favorite part of the post, FREE STUFF!

Win a coupon for a FREE container of Silken Creations From UrbanVegan

$20 Gift Certificate for MixMyGranola from the lovely blogger Chocolate-Covered Katie

