I can’t follow a recipe.

I mean I know how to measure stuff and preheat ovens and what not but I have never followed a recipe without first going all ‘Frankenstein’ on it.

Frankenstein_monster_Boris_Karloff.jpg

I’ll try to make it ‘healthier’ by adding all sorts of different whole grains and flours or I’ll cut a bunch of the sugar out etc because I’m crazy.  Crazy about trying to find the Holy Grail recipe or meal that not only tastes fantastic but is healthy, simple to prepare, and easy on the wallet.

This leads us to my concoction last night where I started to fiddle with an oatmeal chocolate chip cookie recipe.  Not only did I remove the eggs and butter but I decided to add some dried blueberries and heck why not some pecans as well.

IMG_3711

And you know what?  Sometimes my madness turns out pretty passable (in my own head at least).  As did these cookies. These cookies have nice crisp borders with chewy centers and a carmel pecan flavor.

I’m not quite done tweaking the recipe (and it won’t contain the dried blueberries because I want it to be something anyone can make without making a special trip to the store) but when it gets an A grade in my book I’ll be sure to pass it along.

Yoga Challenge Day 3:

I’ve really enjoyed doing a bit of yoga at night right before I go to sleep. The first night I practiced for an hour. I went a little crazy in the headstand pose, tipped too far backward and landed on my butt in a super awkward position. Whoopsiedaisy. I inadvertently ended up in a pose I’ve always wanted to try anyways: the King Pigeon Pose. So see? Everything happens for a reason. I totally planned that fall backwards.

MC_206_Kapotasana_248.jpg

Last night I was a little more tired so I just did a quick 20 minute routine that focused on hip openers.

I used to be a yoga DVD junkie. But lately I’ve really enjoyed doing my own thing and using Pandora as my background music (check out the ‘Calm Meditation’ station…it’s perfect for yoga and meditating).  It’s nice to go at your own pace and not have to worry about keeping up with the instructor.  I find that I am much more in tune with my breath.

Water Cooler Morsel of the Day:

Can men ever understand what it feels like to be a woman? My Brief Life as a Woman

