So I will be the first to admit that I need to do a better job of eating my green leafy vegetables.  The Green Monster was something that I was initially hesitant about.  I mean I love spinach and all, but spinach and banana together? Nuh uh. So I tried an initial version this past weekend and was not blown away.  I could taste the spinach even though I only put a little bit in and I really don’t want to taste spinach in a smoothie…my taste buds just aren’t quite ready for that yumminess.

I changed up the recipe a little bit this morning and added a scant spoonful of peanut butter to the mix.

*drool*

*drool*

Now normally I prefer just plain old natural peanut butter with no salt or anything added but I was given this Smooth Operator PB by a friend and I obviously can’t just let it go to waste 🙂 The taste really isn’t that bad, I just would never pay the $6 or however much it costs per jar.

IMG_3703

Ingredients:

1 big handful spinach

1/2 cup frozen tropical fruit

1/2 frozen banana

3/4 cup(ish) lite soymilk

2 tsp peanut butter

And Voila…Green Monster!

IMG_3709

Verdict?  A-. The addition of the peanut butter really helped with the taste and not only smoothed out the spinach flavor but also added a richness and satiety that my first version without peanut butter was missing.  This plus some whole grain crackers kept my tummy happy for about four hours…not quite as good as the Stick to Your Ribs Waffles, but still good for a smoothie.

Have you tried to make a green monster yet?  Try one! You can always start off easy with the amount of spinach you add at first.

Water Cooler Morsel of the Day:

Do animals experience the emotion of regret?  Read this article and decide for yourself:  In That Tucked Tail, Real Pangs of Regret?

