First of all I want to thank everyone who has emailed and commented so far, your words mean so much to me!  I have been stalking so many blogs since the fall of 2008 and you have all inspired me to start my own blog so thank you!  I hope that I have something new to bring to the table to entertain and feed the soul.

Back to the good stuff, food!  If you are looking for light and fluffy ‘wonderbread’ waffles these aren’t the waffles for you.  But if you want a whole grain, dense, nutty, eat half a waffle and fill you up till the cows come home waffle, then give these a try!  The whole wheat flour and oatmeal flour give these a great nutty, full-bodied flavor.  This is a pretty basic recipe that you can tailor to your needs by adding various nuts/frozen fruits/spices etc.  The recipe makes about four waffles (more or less depending on the size of your waffle iron) and can be frozen for later yumminess.

Stick to Your Ribs Waffles

(makes about four waffles)

2 cups whole wheat flour

1 cup old-fashioned oats (ground up in a food processor/blender)

2 1/2 cups soymilk

2 Tbs vegetable oil

1 tsp vanilla

2 Tbs brown sugar

1 1/2 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp salt

Mix all the dry ingredients together and fold in the wet ingredients.  Don’t worry about the amount of soymilk (or other non-dairy milk) you are putting in, it may seem like too much at first, but it will quickly soak up all the grains and make for a good consistency.

IMG_3695

After making a couple of waffles I remembered I had some frozen raspberries in the freezer that I crumbled up in the rest of the batter. Yum!

IMG_3697

These should take maybe four minutes per side on a stovetop waffle maker, and maybe five minutes total in an electric waffle maker.  If you don’t have a waffle maker you can always make pancakes with the batter!

IMG_3698

So I could only eat 3/4 of this waffle before crying uncle. Four hours later I am stilllllll fulllllll.  I told you these were stick to your ribs waffles haha.

Water Cooler Morsel Of The Day:

Are we in control of our own decisions?

